Forward in the Fifth

Energizing Students. Empowering Communities.

Home » Awards » Current article

Seeking nominees for new regional ‘AppLE Awards’

AppLE AwardsThroughout Southern and Eastern Kentucky, educators, parents, students, and community leaders work tirelessly to advance education in their schools, home communities, and the region.

Forward in the Fifth, a nonprofit organization created to help raise the educational attainment levels in the Fifth Congressional District, is seeking to recognize leaders in education, including local parent and student support groups, who have made significant contributions to promote and support education through the 2012 AppLE Awards.

The AppLE Awards—which stands for Appalachian Leaders in Education—celebrate excellence in education by honoring professional educators and supporters in 42 counties within Forward in the Fifth’s primary service region.

“The purpose of the AppLE awards is to acknowledge the positive accomplishments that are being made in all areas of education across Southern and Eastern Kentucky,” said Jim Tackett, executive director of Forward in the Fifth. “Many individuals and groups have gone above and beyond to improve the overall quality of education in our region, and we want to honor their work and dedication in helping to raise the education attainment levels for all of our students.”

Nominations forms for Forward in the Fifth’s 2012 AppLE Awards will be accepted through March 31 in four award categories:

  • Educators, professional and support staff
  • Community leaders or business/community organizations
  • Parents or parent groups
  • Students or student groups

For more information on the AppLE Awards, contact Forward in the Fifth executive director Jim Tackett at 606-677-6000 or email us.

A detailed description of each of the four 2012 AppLE Awards, eligibility requirements, and nomination forms can be downloaded online from

All completed nomination forms must be emailed to Forward in the Fifth administrative assistant Rhonda Lawson. They may also be printed, completed, and mailed by the March 31 deadline to Forward in the Fifth, 2292 South U.S. 27, Somerset, KY 42501. Submissions by fax or telephone will not be accepted.

Finalists will be selected in each of the four award categories and notified by Forward in the Fifth of their nomination. Award winners will be announced in during a special event this May.

Forward in the Fifth, an affiliate of The Center for Rural Development in Somerset, Ky., introduced the first AppLE Award in November 2011 at its 25th Anniversary Celebration and Unbridled Learning Educational Summit in Hazard.

U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05)—the visionary behind the creation of Forward in the Fifth—was presented the inaugural AppLE Award for his role in creating the nonprofit organization in 1986 and moving education forward in Southern and Eastern Kentucky.

“The AppLE Awards illustrate the progressive activity and partnerships that are occurring within our region to advance education in Southern and Eastern Kentucky,” Tackett said. “These awards not only recognize visionary leaders for their outstanding achievements in education but encourage others to work to make a difference in promoting education in our region.”

Nominations will be accepted within Forward in the Fifth’s 42-county primary service area, which includes: Adair, Bath, Bell, Breathitt, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Rowan, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe.

Comments are closed.

Upcoming Events